Data Retention Policy

 

Dialpad offers customizable retention policies that allow you to choose what data to retain, for which business units, and for how long.

By default, Dialpad retains your data until you choose to delete it, cancel your account, or set up a retention policy. Data for canceled companies are deleted within 180 days.

Let's take a look at managing retention policies in Dialpad.

How to Set Up

To set up a retention policy, your company’s Dialpad Admin, Google Admin, or Microsoft Admin will need to reach out to their Customer Success Manager with their name, company, and the details of the retention policy they would like to put in place:

  • Choose the target entity you want it applied to within Dialpad
  • Choose the retention period you want, expressed in days
  • Choose the data to be affected, from the options below

A common retention policy is "Remove content for the whole company after 365 days."

Target Entity

Retention policies can be set for an entire company, or for individual user groups within the Dialpad app, such as one or more individual Offices (meaning all users assigned to that office), Departments, or Call Centers.

dp-my-company-settings.png

Company Settings

dp-office-settings-list.gif

Office Settings

To view the Offices, Departments, and Call Centers that have been created in your Dialpad instance, visit Dialpad.com and navigate to Admin Settings.

 

 

Retention Period

When setting up your retention policy, you can specify any period in 1-day increments. The shortest retention period is 1 day.

The retention period is calculated from the age of the content at the time the retention policy is put in place, not from the date the retention policy is applied. For example, a retention policy of 365 days will affect all data that is older than a 1-year rolling period from the present.

Affected Data

Below you'll learn more about the retention policies available.

Cleanup & Archive

Cleans up the user view by masking data from search results, but does not delete any data. Data is still available to administrators and for analytics reporting.

Archiving is useful for high-volume, analytics-heavy businesses where managers need to keep data available for metrics and Vi analytics, and end-users don’t need indefinite access to call data. Users will not see archived data, but admins will see it as normal.

Remove Content

Deletes the content associated with user activity, such as call recordings, voicemails, messages, and Vi transcripts.

This means that this data will be completely purged from your environment as well as Dialpad’s system. It is not retrievable once removed.

Removing content doesn’t remove the listing for entry for the call itself. Nor does it remove the name or phone number of the caller or the called party. Names and phone numbers are personal information, but they aren’t “content” so removing content does not affect them.

The data types affected by the remove content setting are not currently customizable. In other words, it cannot be set to delete audio but not transcripts, or recordings, but not voicemails. Currently, remove content means all content.

Remove Content & PI

Removes all personally identifiable information from all entries that associates the content with the user. This setting does everything that “Remove Content” does, and then goes a step further: it not only removes what was said, such as call recordings, transcripts, or messages that might have been generated, it removes personal information from “metadata” about the call. Specifically, it removes from the call history all data that is personally identifiable:

  • External party name and number
  • Call participant IDs
  • Routing data
  • All content (see “Remove Content” above)

Summary of Retention Policy Options Available

Data Type Cleanup & Archive Remove Content Remove Content & PI

Recordings

Hidden Deleted Deleted
Transcripts Hidden Deleted Deleted
Voicemails & Voicemail Transcripts Hidden Deleted Deleted
Messages (SMS/IM) Hidden Deleted Deleted
Faxes Hidden Deleted Deleted
Vi Training Data Hidden Deleted Deleted
Call Log PI Details Hidden   Deleted
Action Items Hidden Deleted Deleted
Shared Files  Hidden Deleted Deleted 

 

Keep in mind that, if there is more than one retention policy set on a given Dialpad user group (such as an Office, Department, Call Center, or Coaching Group), they must be set to the same period.

 

Was this article helpful?

/