Transfer a Call

Transfer your calls directly to another person, or Department. Looking to transfer on your Obihai?

To transfer an active call:

  1. Click Transfer
  2. Search for a contact, manually type in a number, or select one of your most frequent contacts
  3. If a team member/Department has more than 1 #, click on the drop-down to select

transfernewlogo1.gif

Depending on who you’re transferring to your options include:

  • Ask First (Warm)
  • Transfer Now (Direct)
  • Transfer to Voicemail
  • Transfer to Hold Queue (Transfer to Hold)

Ask First (Warm Transfer)

Ask First (Warm) is available for:

  • Desktop App
  • Android
  • iOS

When you opt for Ask First:

  1. Your active call is put on hold
  2. New call is placed to team member/Operator to confirm the transfer

warmtransfernewlogo.gif

Once your team member/Operator answers, you'll have options to finalize the transfer, send the caller to voicemail, or even hang up the call.

Introduce a Warm Transfer

Looking to introduce your callers before finalizing your transfer? You can merge the calls once both are active. Here's how:

  1. Navigate to the call on hold
  2. Click on Merge

transfermergenewlogo.gif

Now all three of you are on an active call, where you can introduce your caller to your recipient before handing off the call.

When you’re ready, click transfer on your call with your team mate to finalize.

Android

  1. Tap More > Transfer Callertransfer_android_1.jpeg
  2. On your search screen, type in your recipient’s name or number 
  3. Choose Ask Nowtransfer_android_2.jpeg
  4. Your current call will be placed on hold while the new call is being made
  5. Once the new call is connected you can select Transferandroid_transfer_3.jpeg

 

iPhone

  1. Tap More > Transfer 
  2. On your search screen, type in your recipient’s name or number
  3. Choose Ask Now
  4. Your current call will be placed on hold while the new call is being made
  5. Once the new call is connected you can select Transfer

iphone_transfer_1.gif

 

Transfer Now (Blind Transfer)

Transfer Now (Direct) is available for:

When you opt for Transfer Now:

  • Your active call is temporarily put on hold
  • Your active call is then directly transferred

transfernewlogo1.gif

Android

  1. Tap More > Transfer Caller Screenshot_20191206-120558.jpg
  2. On your search screen, type in your recipient’s name or number
  3. Choose Transfer Now .           Screenshot_20191206-120614.jpg
  4. The call is transferred and you are then disconnected. Screenshot_20191206-124315.jpg

iPhone

  1. Tap More > Transfer 
  2. On your search screen, type in your recipient’s name or number
  3. Choose Transfer Now
  4. Your call will be transferred and you will be disconnected right away

iostransfernow.gif

Transfer to Voicemail

Transfer to Voicemail is available for:

  • Team members
  • Departments (Includes Main Line)

When you opt for Transfer to Voicemail:

  • Your active call is put on hold
  • Your active call is then transferred directly to your party’s voicemail greeting

Transfer to Hold Queue

Transfer to Hold Queue (Transfer to Hold) is available for:

  • Team members

This feature is ideal for times when you know your team member can take the call in a minute or two (like if they just got up to grab a quick cup of coffee).

When you opt to Transfer to Hold Queue:

  1. Active call is put on hold
  2. Active call is transferred over to team member’s line (still on hold)
  3. Team member receiving call sees it under their Active Call sidebar (on hold)
  4. Team member selects Switch Call to This Device to accept

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Can I transfer to a number outside of my Company?

It'll depend on whether you're making or receiving the call. If you receive a call and then need to transfer your caller, you can transfer to a # outside of your Company. You'll just need to make sure that your Admin has enabled this office-wide feature.

The # will have to be associated with a Dialpad account, i.e. another Department, CallCenters, Dialpad Team Member, Room Phone, etc. 

If you're making the call and then transferring your caller, you can't transfer to a # outside of your Company if you are on a Standard Plan. If you are on a Pro or Enterprise plan, reach out to our Support Team to enable this feature.  

Will transferred calls be recorded?

If you have auto-recording turned on then Department or Call Center calls transferred to another Dialpad user in your company will be recorded from beginning to end if you use "Ask First" (Warm Transfer). If you use "Transfer Now" (Blind Transfer) or transfer the call to a number external to Dialpad, only the first part of the call prior to transfer will be recorded.

Was this article helpful?

/