Transfer a Call

The ability to transfer a call is one of the most important features you can offer your customers. This ensures they connect with the agent who is the most suited to efficiently assist, and shows your clients that you care. 

Dialpad provides you with 4 different options when transferring a call:

  • Direct Transfer (Transfer Now)
  • Ask First (Warm)
  • Transfer to Voicemail
  • Transfer to Hold Queue (Transfer to Hold)

Let's dive into the details of call transferring. 

Direct Transfer (Transfer Now)

A direct transfer means the person/department receiving the transferred call does not have any pretext and is going into the call "blind".

You can directly transfer to:

When you opt to Transfer Now, your active call is temporarily put on hold and then directly transferred.

Let's look at the different ways to directly transfer an active call:

From the Dialpad desktop or web app

  1. Click 'Transfer'
  2. Search for a contact: manually type in a number, or select one of your most frequent contacts
    • If a team member/Department has more than 1 number, click on the drop-down arrow to select
  3. Click 'Transfer Now'

transfernewlogo1.gif

Android

  1. Tap 'More'
  2. Select 'Transfer Caller'
  3. Type the recipient's name or number in the search screen
  4. Select 'Transfer Now'

Your call will then be transferred and you will immediately disconnect.

iPhone

  1. Tap 'More'
  2. Select 'Transfer'
  3. Type the recipient's name or number in the search screen
  4. Select 'Transfer Now'

Your call will then be transferred and you will immediately disconnect.

Looking to transfer on your Obihai? Read this article for more information. 

Ask First (Warm Transfer)

The Ask First (Warm Transfer) feature allows you to introduce your caller to your recipient before handing off the call. Once your team member/Operator answers, you'll have options to finalize the transfer, send the caller to voicemail, or even hang up the call.  

Warm Transfers are available for:

  • Desktop App
  • Android
  • iOS

When you opt for Ask First:

  1. Your active call is put on hold
  2. New call is placed to team member/Operator to confirm the transfer

 

warmtransfernewlogo.gif

 

Introduce a Warm Transfer

Looking to introduce your callers before finalizing your transfer? You can merge the calls once both are active. Here's how:

  1. Navigate to the call on hold
  2. Click on Merge

transfermergenewlogo.gif

 

Android

  1. Tap More > Transfer Caller                                               transfer_android_1.jpeg
  2. On your search screen, type in your recipient’s name or number 
  3. Choose Ask Now                                                                         transfer_android_2.jpeg
  4. Your current call will be placed on hold while the new call is being made
  5. Once the new call is connected you can select Transferandroid_transfer_3.jpeg

 

iPhone

  1. Tap More > Transfer 
  2. On your search screen, type in your recipient’s name or number
  3. Choose Ask Now
  4. Your current call will be placed on hold while the new call is being made
  5. Once the new call is connected you can select Transfer

iphone_transfer_1.gif

 

Transfer to Voicemail

When you opt for Transfer to Voicemail, your active call is put on hold and is then transferred directly to your party’s voicemail greeting.

Transfer to Voicemail is available for transfers between team members, or to departments (including the Main Line).

How to transfer to voicemail:

  1. Click 'Transfer'
  2. Search for a contact: manually type in a number, or select one of your most frequent contacts
    • If a team member/Department has more than 1 number, click on the drop-down arrow to select
  3. Click 'Transfer to voicemail'

Transfer_to_Voicemail.png

Transfer to Hold Queue

Transfer to Hold Queue (Transfer to Hold) is available for transfers between team members. 

Transferring to a hold queue is ideal for times when you know your team member can take the call in a minute or two (perhaps they just stepped out to grab a quick cup of coffee).

When you opt to Transfer to Hold Queue, the active call is put on hold and transferred to a team member's hold queue. The receiving team member will view the call in their Active Call Sidebar and the caller remains on hold until the receiving team member selects 'Switch Call to This Device'  to accept the call. 

How to transfer to a hold queue:

  1. Click 'Transfer'
  2. Search for a contact: manually type in a number, or select one of your most frequent contacts
    • If a team member/Department has more than 1 number, click on the drop-down arrow to select
  3. Click 'Send to hold queue'

Transfer_to_hold_queue.png

 

FAQs

Can I transfer to a number outside of my Company?

This depends on whether you're making or receiving the call.

If you receive a call and then need to transfer your caller, you can transfer to a # outside of your Company. You'll just need to make sure that your Admin has enabled this office-wide feature.

The # will have to be associated with a Dialpad account, i.e. another Department, CallCenters, Dialpad Team Member, Room Phone, etc. 

If you're making the call and then transferring your caller, you can't transfer to a # outside of your Company if you are on a Standard Plan. If you are on a Pro or Enterprise plan, reach out to ourSupport Team to enable this feature.  

Are transferred calls recorded?

If you have auto-recording turned on, Department or Call Center calls transferred to another Dialpad user in your company will be recorded from beginning to end if you use "Ask First" (Warm Transfer).

If you use "Transfer Now" (Blind Transfer) or transfer the call to a number external to Dialpad, only the first part of the call prior to transfer will be recorded.

If someone calls my Toll Free number and the call is transferred to an external number, will my calling credits continue to be used once the call is transferred?

Yes, your credits will continue to be used. Calls to Toll-Free numbers will be charged per minute used post-transfer.

Was this article helpful?

/