Set a Custom Status
    • 03 May 2024
    • 1 Minute to read
    • Dark
      Light
    • PDF

    Set a Custom Status

    • Dark
      Light
    • PDF

    Article summary

    Set a custom status to indicate to others what you're up to. Maybe you're on vacation, or perhaps you just want to let everyone know the task you're working on currently.

    If you're looking to set a custom status from a mobile device, visit our Help Center articles on iOS and Android.

    Let's take a look at how to set a custom status in Dialpad's desktop app.

    Who can use this feature
    All Dialpad Users can set a custom status.

    Set a custom status

    To set your status from the Dialpad app, navigate to your avatar on the top right corner. 

    1. Enter your custom status into the text box, or 
    2. Select one of our templated statuses
    3. Select Enter to confirm

    Dialpad limits a custom status to less than 50 characters and even stores your last 5 custom statuses for easy access. 

    To use one of your most recent custom statuses, simply click on the empty text box and the drop-down menu will automatically populate with your favorite statues. 

    Custom_statuses.png

    Status templates

    Dialpad also offers a variety of pre-made status templates. 

    Select the drop-down menu in the Update your status box and choose the status.

    Screen_Shot_2022-06-29_at_1.49.34_PM.png

    If you select Out Sick, or Traveling, Dialpad will ask if you'd like to switch into DND mode — click No to set the status without transitioning into DND, or select Yes, turn it on if you do want to enter DND.

    Status_into_DND.png

    Status timer

    We've all been there — you set a "BRB" status and then forget to remove it when you return. 

    Set a timer to force your custom status to disappear after a specific amount of time.

    1. Select Set a Timer
    2. Select the timer's duration 

    Your status will then expire after 30 minutes, 1 hour, 2 hours, end of the day, or the end of the week.

    Or, you can also choose No timer which means your status will remain live until you manually remove it. 

    Screen_Shot_2022-06-29_at_1.52.06_PM.png

    Remove a status 

    To remove your status, simply select the large "X" beside your status and it will automatically re-set to a blank status. 

    Screen_Shot_2022-06-29_at_1.56.13_PM.png

    Frequently asked questions

    If I put a link in my status, can you click the URL to access the webpage?

    Yes, absolutely! Hyperlinks can be clicked from the Contact's profile, or from your sidebar. 

    Why don't my recent custom statuses appear when I click the status text box?

    You'll need to remove your current status before being able to select a new status from the drop-down menu. Select the large "X" beside your status and it will automatically re-set to a blank status. 


    Was this article helpful?