Shared Company Contacts
    • 12 Apr 2024
    • 3 Minutes to read
    • Dark
      Light
    • PDF

    Shared Company Contacts

    • Dark
      Light
    • PDF
    • New

    Article Summary

    Have contacts you'd like to share across your company? Simply upload a CSV file of your existing contacts to Dialpad and your contacts will be available for everyone within your company.

    Let's dive into how this works.

    Who can use this feature 

    Company admins on any Dialpad plan can upload shared contacts from their admin portal.

    Upload shared company contacts

    To upload your shared company contacts, navigate to your Admin Settings at Dialpad.com 

    1. Select My Company from the drop-down menu at the top left

    2. Navigate to  Shared Contacts

    3. Select Upload CSV

    Format your CSV

    To make life easier, we have a template you can download from your Company Admin settings.

    Select Download CSV Template and enter the listed shared contact information.

    Export shared contacts list

    To export your shared company contacts, head to Admin Settings at Dialpad.com

    1. Select My Company from the drop-down menu at the top left

    2. Navigate to  Shared Contacts

    3. Select Export list 

    4. Confirm email address, then select Send

    That's it! Once you receive the email with a CSV file, you'll be able to download all the shared contacts for your office.

    🗒 Note

    If you need to export shared contacts tied to a user account, please reach out to our Customer Support team.

    CSV requirements

    Ensure your contacts are uploaded as accurately and efficiently as possible, by reviewing the below CSV requirements. 

    Mandatory fields

    Either first name or last name is required:

    • First_Name

    • Last_Name

    Fields are not case-sensitive. 

    Optional fields

    Have additional details you'd like to add? No problem. Dialpad will upload and enter the following optional fields. 

    • email

    • phones *

    • extension

    • company ** 

    • role

    • URLs

    • country ***

    🗒 Notes

    *If you're adding more than one phone number,  separate them with a | (Ex: +17777777777|+15555555555|+13333333333)

    We won't accept numbers formatted with periods or dashes (ex: 777.777.7777).
    Numbers must be written in e.164 format, unformatted numbers (4152222222) are not accepted.

    ** Country codes are only required for numbers outside the US

    ***International numbers require the country code and abbreviation. US numbers do not need a country  abbreviation. 

    Interact with shared contacts

    Once the upload is complete, your shared contacts will be searchable by every user within your company. A few things to keep in mind:

    • Shared contacts that interact with departments will display a colored tag and will create a department contact

    • Communication history (calls & messages) with shared contacts that interact with a department will be searchable/viewable by operators

    • Updates to shared contacts affect every instance of the shared contact in Dialpad (including their listings in your department)

    • Shared contacts are editable by every user in your company

    Update shared contact info

    Edit any of the following fields from within the Dialpad App, and we will update the contact's profile wherever it appears:

    • Name

    • Number

    • Email

    • Company Role

    • URLs

    Shared contacts can be deleted, however, it will only delete the user’s specific communication history, text content, etc. The shared contact will still be searchable after deletion.

    🗒 Note

    Be aware that shared contacts don't sync back to G Suite or Microsoft 365.

    Search shared contacts

    Currently shared contacts can only be searched by the following:

    • Email

    • Name

    • Phone Number

    Frequently asked questions 

    Is there a size limit for my CSV file?

    Yes, you can upload up to 500 contacts per CSV file.

    If you are uploading multiple large files, we recommend waiting 5 minutes between each upload to allow sufficient time for the database to register your data (this helps prevents duplicate contacts creation).

    Where can I see shared contacts?

    Shared company contacts are searchable by every user within your company.

    Simply type the name or number into the search bar at the top of your app and you'll see them!

    Can I delete shared company contacts?

    Absolutely! Reach out to our Support Team for help deleting shared contacts. 

    Unfortunately, you can't delete a shared contact from the app.

    Why don't I see my contacts right away?

    Once your new shared contacts have been uploaded to your account, these contacts will not show up in your directory contacts, you will have to search for them.

    What is e.164 format?

    E.164 is the international telephone numbering plan that ensures each device on the PSTN has globally unique number.

    This number ensures calls and text messages can be correctly routed to individual phones in different countries.

    E.164 numbers are formatted [+] [country code] [subscriber number including area code] and can have a maximum of fifteen digits.

    Have a look at the examples below.

    E.164 Format

    Country Code

    Country

    Subscriber Number

    +14155552671

    1

    US

    4155552671

    +442071838750

    44

    GB

    2071838750

    +33170377180

    33

    FR

    0170377180




    Was this article helpful?