Remove Local, Toll-Free or Secondary Numbers

Removing a number is a piece of cake,  and once you confirm the changes, your removed number will be placed in your Unassigned Numbers (also known as your Reserve Pool) for you to access later on, or to reassign elsewhere. 

Let's go over the number removal process. 

Who can use this feature?

Company and Office Admins can remove local, toll-free and secondary numbers.

Remove a Local Number

Admins can remove individual (team member) numbers, as well as shared numbers. 

Shared Line

To remove a Shared line, head to your Admin Settings at Dialpad.com.

  1. Navigate to Departments (or Call Centers if you need to remove a Call Center's shared line)
  2. Select Options beside the number you want to remove
  3. Select Remove from the drop down menu

dp-localnumber-remove-shared-line.gif

Team Member

To remove a Team Member, head to your Admin Settings at Dialpad.com 

  1. Navigate to Office
  2. Select Users
  3. Choose the user, then select Options Calling Manage Phone Numbers.
  4. Select Options
  5. Click Remove from the drop-down menu

dp-remove-localnumber-team-member.gif

Remove a Toll-Free Number

Shared Line

To remove a shared line, first head to your Admin Settings at Dialpad.com.

  1. Navigate to Departments (or Call Centers if you need to remove a Call Center's shared line)
  2. Find the shared line you would like to remove
  3. Select Options 
  4. Select Remove from the drop-down menu

dp-remove-tollfree-number-shared-line.gif

Remove a Secondary Number

If a user has more than one line assigned to them, you can remove a secondary number:

  1. From Dialpad.com, navigate to Admin Settings
  2. From the Office section, select Users
  3. Find the User and click Options
  4. Select Calling from the drop-down menu, and click Manage Phone Numbers
  5. Select Remove next to the secondary number

dp-remove-secondary-number.gif

Once you confirm the changes, your removed number will be placed in your Reserved Numbers (your Reserve Pool) for you to access later on or reassign elsewhere.

What happens when I remove a number?

Once the Admin deletes a user or removes a previously assigned number in Dialpad, the number is stored in your Unassigned Numbers list (found in Admin Settings > Office > Users > Reserved Numbers)

Reserved_Numbers.png

If an Admin decides to remove a number from their Reserved Numbers list, the number is placed in a cooling pool for 30 days

  • If you made a mistake and want to assign the number back to a user, mainline/department/call center, room phone, or to your Unassigned Numbers list for later use please reach out to our support team within 30 days. 

If, after 30 days, an Admin does not reach out to support to reassign that number, the number is released back into the public (where it can be reassigned to a different Company).

Don't forget — there is a fee for maintaining numbers in your Reserve Pool. 

Was this article helpful?

/