Contact Syncing (FAQs)

G Suite + Office 365

If you’ve signed up with G Suite (including Gmail) or Office 365, your personal contacts automatically sync with Dialpad.

Read more to learn how this sync happens and what details are captured.

How does the sync work?

In general, syncing your contacts works like this:

  • You have a saved contact in G Suite/Office 365
  • You open Dialpad and search for that contact
  • The contact will appear in the search results
  • Click on the contact and their details will appear in their profile

 

What syncs to Dialpad?

At this time we sync:

  • First Name
  • Last Name
  • Email*
  • Phone Number*

*Email/Phone #s removed in G Suite/Office 365 will still display in Dialpad.

Dialpad Tip: If you want what displays in Dialpad to display in G Suite/Office 365, make your changes in Dialpad. When we push a sync, these details will overwrite your G Suite/Office 365 records.


How often is Dialpad syncing?

Every time you open a contact to place a call or send a message, we’re syncing with G Suite/Office 365.  

Keep in mind that changes may have a short delay before displaying in Dialpad.

Why is the same person coming up twice in my search results?

If your G Suite/Office 365 contact was recently “used”, your contact may show up more than once in your search results.

Some examples:

  • If you created a duplicate contact (meaning you created an account in Dialpad that already existed in your Google/Office account)

  • If you have a personal Google/Office contact that is also a Dialpad user 

This happens because we search both G Suite/Office 365 and Dialpad at the same time to pull your search results.
 

If I delete a contact in Dialpad, will it delete it out of G Suite/Office 365?

Yes.

Do you sync with shared contacts?

No, just your Company Directory (your Dialpad team and invited users) and your personal contacts.

Is it a two-way sync?

For the most part. Here are the scenarios:

  • Adding a new contact
  • Removing a contact
  • Edit a contact’s First or Last Name

When editing a contact’s phone # or email address in G Suite / Office 365, you’ll see the edited phone # and email address added to their Dialpad profile (in addition to their previous phone # or email address).

The only way to remove this is to edit the contact in Dialpad. That will overwrite the changes in G Suite/Office 365.

What if someone calls me who I don’t have saved as a contact?

When you receive a call, we search through your contacts to see if we can find a matching #. If we can, we’ll show that name on the caller ID.

If we can’t, we’ll create a contact with that number in both Dialpad and in G Suite/Office 365.

Email & Password

Unlike Google and Office 365, if you signed up with an email and password Dialpad only syncs one way (from your email contacts > Dialpad). So anything you add/edit/delete in Dialpad stays in Dialpad.

What if someone calls me who I don’t have saved as a contact?

When you receive a call, we search through your contacts to see if we can find a matching #. If we can, we’ll show that name on the caller ID.

If we can’t, we’ll save the # to your Dialpad account. If you want the name to appear the next time, just edit the # to your contact’s name within Dialpad.

If you want a name to appear the next time that # calls, you’d need to make sure they’re added to your personal email account outside of Dialpad.

Do you sync with shared contacts?

No.