VoiceAI FAQs

How does Supervisor View (Call Centers) work?

VoiceAI leverages automatic speech recognition, natural language processing, and artificial intelligence to record, transcribe, and analyze each conversation in real-time.

It analyzes conversations to identify words and phrases that indicate that a manager should engage in an existing call. When VoiceAI identifies one or more of these occurrences within a customer conversation, it earmarks that conversation and flags that information within the Supervisor View interface.

Each of the following situations trigger the manager intervention flag:

  • The client is highly frustrated.
  • The client wants to cancel the product/service.
  • The agent does not appear to be in control of the conversation.
  • The agent seems to be having difficulty solving the client's issue.
  • The agent requests help from a supervisor.
  • The client is confused and cannot understand or does to appear to be effectively communicating with the agent.

What features are available to a Supervisor vs an Agent (Call Center)?

Supervisor

  • Live Sentiment
  • Live Transcription
  • Action Items
  • Snippets
  • Manual Notes
  • Call Summaries

Agent

  • Live Transcription
  • Action Items
  • Snippets
  • Manual Notes
  • Call Summaries

Will transcription accuracy be higher on HD audio calls that run over the Opus codec vs PSTN codecs like PCMA/U?

For now, no. Our models are designed to work with 8khz telephony audio (standard). Over time we’ll work to tweak our models to optimize between standard and HD Audio.

How do we find past action items, transcriptions and post-call summaries?

Just navigate to the conversation thread with the particular contact you've interacted with to display the View Call button to access your voiceAI features. 

Can you edit the post-call summary?

Yes.

Can I delete the post-call summary?

Yes. From your desktop app, just navigate to Inbox > Calls to find the specific call. Once located, click the drop-down arrow to select Delete VoiceAI

Can I turn off VoiceAI for specific calls? 

Absolutely. Just click the VoiceAI Enabled button on your active call screen to switch VoiceAI off.

Does VoiceAI capture both inbound and outbound calls?

VoiceAI is built into our telephony architecture so we can capture every call (inbound and outbound).

How does VoiceAI store transcriptions? Is sensitive data stored differently?

Transcripts are stored in secure cloud storage and databases: Google Cloud Storage and Elasticsearch. Sensitive data will be stored differently when we instantiate our PII filter. Eventually, this will fall under the same GDPR standards as any other Dialpad data. We’re working towards that along with the rest of Dialpad.

Do we need to notify our callers if we're using VoiceAI? 

Yes—using this feature will require you to adhere to call recording laws. 

For states that require two party consent it is required to notify that other party that a call is being recorded. This can be handled by stating, “I’m on a recorded line”, to playing “This call is being recorded for quality purposes” when a call first connects. 12 states have adopted “two-party consent”.

For shared lines, Dialpad offers the ability to play a default message at the beginning of the call that the line is being recorded. 

If a call is being transcribed and not recorded, do we still need to notify our callers that we're using VoiceAI?

Yes, technically the real-time transcript does count as recording the call. Users still need to notify the other party that the call is being transcribed verbally or through playing a beep/tone at the start of the call.

Can users turn VoiceAI off entirely? 

Yes, users will be able to turn VoiceAI off entirely for their personal calls. Just navigate to Dialpad.com > Your Profile > VoiceAI and toggle the switch off. 

Screen_Shot_2018-05-15_at_4.38.21_PM.png

If you've been assigned as an Operator or Agent on a shared line (Main Line, Depts., Call Center), you still have the option of toggling off VoiceAI for your calls but the default setting will be kept on until your Admin turns this off.