Contact Syncing (FAQs)

Whether your contacts automatically sync or if you've had to manually sync them, take a look below at some of the more commonly asked questions when it comes to contacts.  

G Suite or Office 365 Accounts

If you’ve signed up with G Suite (including Gmail) or Office 365, your personal contacts automatically sync with Dialpad. But what does that actually mean for managing contacts in Dialpad?


How does the sync work?

When you search for a contact, Dialpad searches through your G Suite or Office 365 directory to find a match. When we do, we pull that contact's info into your search results.

Use the example below. Searching for "Leo" pulled up a company contact (Leo Fink), a group chat with team members (Leo, Renee, Shane, Gemma), and a personal contact from G Suite / Office 365 (Leonard Ciano). 

Screen_Shot_2017-09-03_at_11.04.19_AM.png

What info is displayed/synced with Dialpad?

The following fields are displayed/synced with Dialpad:

  • First Name
  • Last Name
  • Email*
  • Phone Number*

*Email/Phone #s removed in G Suite/Office 365 will still display in Dialpad.

Dialpad Tip: If you want what displays in Dialpad to display in G Suite/Office 365, make your changes in Dialpad. When we push a sync, these details will overwrite your G Suite/Office 365 records.


How often does Dialpad sync with G Suite/Office 365?

Every time you open a contact to place a call or send a message, we’re syncing with G Suite/Office 365. Keep in mind that changes may have a short delay before displaying in Dialpad.

Why is the same person coming up twice in my search results?

If your G Suite/Office 365 contact was recently “used”, your contact may show up more than once in your search results.

Some examples:

  • If you created a duplicate contact (meaning you created an account in Dialpad that already existed in your Google/Office account)

  • If you have a personal Google/Office contact that is also a Dialpad user 

This happens because we search both G Suite/Office 365 and Dialpad at the same time to pull your search results.
 

If I delete a contact in Dialpad, will it delete it out of G Suite/Office 365?

Yes (so delete with care!). 

If I delete a contact in G Suite/Office 365, will it be removed from Dialpad?

Nope, you'll still see a record of the contact in Dialpad. To completely remove them from Dialpad you'll need to delete the contact from Dialpad directly. 

Does Dialpad sync with shared contacts?

No, just your Company Directory (your Dialpad team and invited users) and your personal contacts.

Is this a two-way sync?

For the most part. Here are the scenarios:

  • Adding a new contact
  • Edit a contact’s First or Last Name

When editing a contact’s phone # or email address in G Suite / Office 365, you’ll see the edited phone # and email address added to their Dialpad profile (in addition to their previous phone # or email address).

The only way to remove this is to edit the contact in Dialpad. That will overwrite the changes in G Suite/Office 365.

What if someone calls me who I don’t have saved as a contact?

When you receive a call, we search through your contacts to see if we can find a matching number. If we can, we’ll show that name on the caller ID.

If we can’t, we’ll create a contact with that number in both Dialpad and in G Suite/Office 365.


Exchange, Hotmail, and Outlook Accounts

Unlike Google and Office 365, if you signed up with Exchange, Hotmail, or Outlook Dialpad only syncs one way (from your email contacts to Dialpad). That means that any changes you make to a contact within Dialpad will stay in Dialpad (and won't be reflected in Exchange, Hotmail, or Outlook). 


What if someone calls me who I don’t have saved as a contact?

When you receive a call, we search through your contacts to see if we can find a matching #. If we can, we’ll show that name on the caller ID.

If we can’t, we’ll save the # to your Dialpad account. If you want the name to appear the next time, just edit the # to your contact’s name within Dialpad.


Do you sync with shared contacts?

No.