SMS & MMS

Is there a limit to the number of people I can message?

Yes. It just depends on the type of #s in your group message (i.e. PSTN vs. VoIP)

If everyone in your group chat is a Dialpad user you'll be able to add up to 24 other people. If one member in your group is not a Dialpad user, you'll be able to add up to 9 other people. 


Why can't I add/remove this person from my group chat?

If a group chat already exists not including the person you want to add/remove, you won't be able to complete the add/remove action at this time. 


Can I text outside the US?

We currently don't offer international texting.


Can I send a group message to the Main Line or Department?

No, group chats can only be sent to/from your primary Dialpad number. 

In addition, you'll see that Department chats do not display the name of the Operator. This is the default setting as these chats are meant to be used for external communications rather than between team members.


Can I send an SMS/MMS to the Main Line or Department?

Definitely. You can send and receive both SMS/MMS from your Main Line or Departments. Learn how to manage your Main Line/Department messages.


How do I clear message notifications?

Sometimes your app may display notifications even if you've already checked them. To clear these out, click on the Mark All as Read icon in your Recent list for recent messages and Inbox for all other calls/messages.


Can I send SMS or MMS to toll-free lines? 

No. Currently, we support:

  • SMS/MMS texts to local Mainline numbers
  • Dialpad messages to toll-free numbers

If you try to send a message from your toll-free number, we'll revert to using the available local line instead. If that's not available (meaning you didn't add a local # to your Department or Call Queue), we'll default to using your Main Line. 


How do notifications work?

Nobody wants to spend their entire day clearing messages—that's why we try to keep it simple when it comes to notifications. Whichever client you're using to send/receive notifications (desktop app / mobile app) is considered your "active client".

Once that active client is set, you'll only receive notifications to that client. And if you switch clients (so from your desktop app to your mobile app) or you don't interact with any client in 5 minutes, the "active client" status is cleared.

The only time you'll receive notifications to more than one client is when you haven't set an active client (limitations apply per your device settings).