Department Contacts (FAQs)

Managing Department contacts shouldn't have you reaching for the aspirin bottle. From adding new contacts to editing history, we strive to make the process as simple as possible. 

First, let's explain what we mean when we say Dept. contacts.

Dept. Contacts Explained

A Dept. contact is any contact that interacts with a Dept., either through calls, faxes, or messages (SMS, MMS, Chat). 

You'll be able to identify a Dept. contact by the colored tag beneath their name when you interact with them.

Screen_Shot_2017-06-06_at_7.25.28_PM.png

In the example above, Renee Martinez is a personal contact and has also interacted with the Sales Department.

We do this so Operators and Dept. Admins can easily identify which contact interacted with a specific Department. 

In certain scenarios, two different types of Dept. contacts are created. The two types are Dept. Contacts & Shared Department Contacts.

Department Contacts

These are contacts that are "owned" by your Department rather than an individual team member. Department contacts are editable by multiple users.

Shared Department Contacts

These are contacts that are "owned" by an individual team member rather than your Office/Department. These contacts are created when your Office/Department Operator:

  1. Makes an inbound call from the Office/Department line
  2. Receives an inbound call to the Office/Department line

Since these contacts are "owned" by the individual who either placed or received the call, the Shared Department Contact is only editable by that one user.

Managing Dept. Contacts

To clear up confusion about contact ownership, we've opted to remove the ability to create any new Shared Department Contacts.

This means that moving forward when an Admin Operator or Department Operator makes or receives a Department call, that call will be saved as a Department Contact.

Take a look at the chart below to better understand the various privileges Admin Operators and Department Operators have when it comes to Department Contacts vs. existing Shared Department Contacts.

Admin Operators

Action Department Contact Shared Department Contact
Create Contact Yes. Make an outbound call from a Department, or receive an inbound call to a Department. No
Delete Contact Yes Yes
Block Contact Yes Yes
Edit Contact (e.g., name, number, email, etc.) Yes No. Only the original "owner" can edit.
Edit History Yes Yes

 

Department Operators

Action Department Contact Shared Department Contact
Create Contact Yes. Make an outbound call from a Department, or receive an inbound call to a Department. No
Delete Contact No No. Only the original "owner" can delete.
Block Contact No. No. Only the original "owner" can block.
Edit Contact (e.g., name, number, email, etc.) Yes No. Only the original "owner" can edit.
Edit History Yes Yes

 

What happens to existing Shared Department Contacts?

While Operators won't be able to create any new Shared Department Contacts moving forward, any existing Shared Department Contacts will need to be either cleaned up or deleted by the original owner.

To decipher which contacts are shared, click on the individual contact to pull up their profile. If they're shared, we'll display the original owner.